Inter House Sports: Red House Dust ’Em


After a closely contested event, Red House, named after Pastor Akinrele Sean, yesterday emerged the overall winners of Fountain of Greatness International School Inter-House Sports competition held at the Agege Stadium.

Green House, named after Chief Amefun Agbasi came second, while Purple House named after the chairman of the school’s Parents Teachers Association, PTA, Lekan Aponna came third. In the fourth position was Blue House, which was named after Folagboye Oyinloye, while Yellow House, named after Jonah Olumekor came fifth.

Red House became champions after it won 18 gold, 12 silvers and 8 bronze medals, they were followed on the medals table by Green and Purple Houses that had 16 and 12 gold medals respectively.

The invitational schools relay was won by Dolan International School, Heritage Estate, Akute, while Early Height School was second with Morabo School, Anthony Village, Lagos taking the third position.

Proprietress of the school, Mrs. T. O. Oyinloye said the school’s management organised the first inter-house sports after almost a decade of the school existence at Olori in Ifo, Ogun State to engage the pupils in sporting activities and also to inculcate the spirit of sportsmanship in them.

Related News

She said: “The reason we are organising our maiden inter house sports now is to encourage our pupils to participate in sports apart from their academic works. Now that we have started, the tournament will be coming up every  four years.”

The PTA chairman, Lekan Oluponna, was excited with the turnout of the parents, adding that the pupils would be healthier if they are allowed to participate in sporting activities.

One of the parents, Mr. Charles Ukasanya praised the organisers of the inter house sports for bringing the event to Agege Stadium that have all the facilities needed for such event. He said that the tourney brought out the sporting talents in the pupils.

The occasion was graced by dignitaries among them are the Director of Sports LTV 8, Mr. Deji Balogun, who is the special guest of honour, the pioneer PTA chairman of the school,  Pastor Akinrele Sean and others.

—Bamidele Olowosagba