NFF Holds Federation Cup Draws Thursday


The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, will on Thursday in Abuja hold the draws for this year’s 2013 Federation Cup finals.

According to NFF’s Director of Competitions, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, a total of 63 clubs will be in the pot at the ceremony billed for the FIFA Technical Centre, National Stadium Complex, as from 12 noon..

No club from Yobe State registered for the annual competition, while Ranch Bees FC of Kaduna would be disqualified from the ceremony should the club’s management fail to offset, by Thursday morning, an outstanding debt of N200,000 payable since last year.

“The management of Ranch Bees have failed to pay this money, which is their fine for late registration for last year’s competition, despite several written undertakings to pay,” said Dr. Sanusi.

Related News

All the 20 Premier League clubs in the country, plus 22 clubs from the second-tier National League, nine clubs from the Nationwide League and 12 non-League teams will be involved in the draws.

A special feature will be added to this year’s draws, with the draws for the Women’s Federation Cup competition also taking place alongside that of the men’s event. The women’s event will involve 22 clubs.

Expected at the two-hour ceremony are NFF Executive Committee members, Alhaji Ahmad Muazu Kawu (Chairman of the Nigeria Nationwide League) and Chief Dilichukwu Onyedinma (Chairperson of the Nigeria Women’s League), alongside NFF General Secretary, Barrister Musa Amadu, members of NFF management, two members of the NFF Organising Committee, and some chairmen and secretaries of state’s football associations.

This year’s Federation Cup grand finale will take place at the Teslim Balogun Stadium on Saturday, 28 July, with the grand finale of the Women Federation Cup taking place the previous day, 27 July.

Load more