819,118 To Vote In Delta Senatorial Bye-Election


The National Commissioner Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Dr Ishmael Igbani on Wednesday said 819,118 registered voters would participate in the Delta Central Senatorial District bye-election coming up on 12 October.

The commissioner said this in Asaba at a stakeholders’ meeting ahead of the election.

Agbani said that the election would be manned by a total of 4,224 election officials, adding that Electronic Voters Register (EVR) and 19 addendum registers had been printed for the election.

The commissioner said that the commission was fully prepared to conduct the election on Saturday with personnel and logistics requirements already in place.

He said that 2,782 voting points had been created for the election in the 85 registration areas across the eight local government areas of the senatorial district.

“We have also taken steps to eliminate the incidence of late arrival of election personnel and materials on election day by establishing Registration Area Camps (RACAS).

“Registration area camps have also be established in the 30 Registration Area (RA) clusters in the eight local government areas of Delta Central district,” he said.

Igbani said that the initiative was designed to promote the early arrival of materials and ensure effective supervision.

He said that all security agencies under the aegis of the Inter-Agency Consultative Committee on Election Security (ICCES) had been fully mobilised for the election.

Related News

He said that the committee would be headed by the Commissioner of Police in charge of Delta.

Igbani called on eligible voters in the senatorial district to come out and cast their votes, saying that “every vote cast will count”.

He also urged trouble makers to steer clear of all voting areas, since any person caught violating the electoral laws would be made to answer to their misdeeds.

Igbani said that political parties and their candidates should caution their supporters to conduct themselves responsibly before, during and after the election.

Meanwhile, Mrs Gesila Khan, the state Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC, said that the commission would not post corps members to Ethiope East Local Government Area of the state for security reasons.

Khan, who said that the decision was a policy from the national headquarters of NYSC, said that the commission would engage students from federal university during the election in the area.

She noted that peace was necessary for credible election, adding “it is a catalyst for the sustenance of the nation’s democracy and its benefits.”

Khan said that nine political parties were expected to participate in the bye-election.

According to her, the parties include Advance Congress of Democrats (ACD), Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Democratic Peoples’ Party (DPP), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and All Progressives Congress, APC.

Load more