Police Commission Promotes 2 AIGs, 3 CPs

MD Abubakar, Police IG.

MD Abubakar, Police IG.

The Nigerian Police Service Commission has announced the promotion of two Assisatnt Inspectors-General of Police, Messrs. Michael Zuokumor and Jonathan Johnson, to the position of Deputy Inspector General of Police.

The commission in a statement signed by Mr. Ferdinand Ekpe, the commission’s Assistant  Director, Press and Public Relations, said the promotion would take effect from January 15 and January 16, 2014, respectively.

Ekpe was quoted as saying that the two AIGs currently representing the North-East and South-South zones in the police management would retire from the force on those dates.

Zuokumor is the AIG in charge of Zone 4, Makurdi, while Johnson is AIG in charge of Zone 6, Calabar.

Related News

The statement also announced the elevation of three Commissioners of Police (CPs) to Assistant Inspectors-General (AIGs) of police with effect from January 16, 2014.

They are Fana Salisu, Musa Daura and Kakwe Katso.

The statement quoted the Chairman of the PSC, Mr Mike Okiro, as congratulating the newly promoted officers and urged them to rise to the challenge of their new offices.