APC broom sweeps out Kano House of Assembly speaker

APC symbol

The political re-alignment sweeping through Nigeria has swept out of office, the Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly.

Alhaji Gambo Sallau, today announced his resignation, 24 hours after 26 out of the 31 legislators defected from the PDP to APC.

Sallau said in a broadcast on Freedom Radio, Kano, that his decision to resign as speaker, was based on political reasons.

“I, Gambo Sallau, the Speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly, hereby announce my resignation as the speaker. Now that the PDP has become an opposition party, I will not continue to be the Speaker of the House’’, he said.

He commended members of the house, the state government and the public for the support they had given him in the last two years.

On Monday, 26 legislators defected to APC, giving the party a majority of 33 out of 40 members.

Related News

Speaking on behalf of the defected 26 PDP members, Rabiu Saleh Gwarzo, representing Gwarzo constituency stated that the reason for their defection from PDP to APC was in respect of their clear conviction that, “the APC is a party that has a clear-cut agenda of liberating Nigerians.”

According to him, all the 26 members who defected to APC had wide consultation with their respective constituencies before arrive at the decision to defect to APC.

He also noted that another reason for their defection was, “because we are satisfied with the outstanding performance of the state governor, Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso in transforming the state in every aspect of development.”

Some of the defected lawmakers include the Deputy Speaker of the House, Alhaji Isyaku Ali Danja, former speaker, Yusuf Abdullahi Falgore, member representing Rogo constituency.

Others include, house majority leader, Engr.Hamisu Ibrahim, representing Makoda constituency, deputy majority leader, Alhaji Yusuf Babangida Suleman, representing Gwale constituency as well as the chief whip of the house, Alhaji Abdullahi Iliyasu Yunusa,among others.