Durojaiye leads Ogun state delegates to confab


Gov. Ibikunle Amosun: suspects sabotage

Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state on Thursday in Abeokuta named six delegates that would represent the state at the forthcoming National Conference.

They are: Pastor Tunde Bakare of the Latter Rain Assembly, Mr Fola Adeola, Sen. Biyi Durojaiye, the Olu of Ilaro,Oba Kehinde Olugbenle, Prof Titi Filani and Mr Bisi Adegbuyi.

Amosun said South-West states appointed, Sen. Iyabo Anisulowo, to represent the region’s senators, while the presidency appointed, Mr Olaniwun Ajayi, as one of the 37 elder statesmen.

Amosun explained that the delegates were appointed from the three senatorial districts of the state.

He said that the delegates, who would be led by Durojaiye, would among others focused on decentralisation of police, devolution of power and true fiscal federalism at the conference.

Related News

Ajayi, who spoke on behalf of the delegates, gave an assurance that they would ensure that the interests of the people of Ogun were protected.

He said that there was a mistake on the way and manner the ethnic groups in the country were merged together.

Ajayi expressed optimism that the mistake of the colonialists would be corrected at the conference.

“The mistake has been with us since 1914 and that is why we have not met up with some of the countries with whom we gained independence in 1960.

“We, however, hope that through the spirit of give and take, we will be able to arrive at solutions that will bring peace and progress to the country,’’ he said.

Load more