How Saidi Balogun Emerged New Actors’ Group Leader

•Saidi Balogun

•Saidi Balogun

Funsho Arogundade

•Saidi Balogun
•Saidi Balogun

On Saturday 5 April, top Yoruba actor, Saidi Balogun, emerged the winner of the presidential election of the newly formed The Movie Ambassadors, TMA.

At the keenly-contested election held at a resort in Oko Afon, Badagry, Lagos, Saidi defeated ace actor and director, Yemi Amodu, to become the first leader of the new association.

Speaking after his election, Saidi called on his colleagues to close ranks and rebuild the industry. He noted that they are change agents and should  work together to move  the movie industry forward.

Related News

“Let us stop shifting blame. We should stop complaining about piracy and stop accusing marketers. They are not our problems… If we practitioners continue this way, not raise our bar and create a door for this industry, the shaking building on which we all practice will crumble. Let us go back and improve on the foundation. We have patched it for too long,” the actor said.

He continued: “We are agents of change. The world is watching you and I. They want to see the role you will play in this re-birth of the industry. We should not allow ego and complex to ruin this noble cause. I challenge us all to embrace the plan and framework of The Movie Ambassadors. Let us rebuild together. Of what benefit is that job that can’t take care of our needs, let alone our parents. With little sacrifice through TMA, prosperity and dignity will return to the movie industry irrespective of who you are.”

Elected alongside Saidi are Aishat Abimbola (Vice President); Dare Oyegbola (General Secretary); Laide Bakare (Treasurer); Gbemi Akintunde (Financial Secretary); Yomi Fabiyi (Public Relations Officer) Kunle Afod (Social Secretary); Mistura Asunramu (Welfare Officer); Kemi Afolabi (Chief Whip/Legal Officer); and Foluke Daramola- Salako (Business, Branding & Investment Officer).

Others are Dele Fagboyo (Asst. General Secretary); Mariam Abdulhammed (Asst. Treasurer); Kemi Ogunbiyi (Asst. Financial Secretary); Eniola Davies (Asst. PRO); Blessing Okoye (Asst. Social Secretary); Bimbo Kazeem (Asst. Chief Whip & Legal); Bigvai Jokotoye (Asst. Business, Branding & Investment) and Deji Coco (Asst. Research & Documentary).

Load more