World Cup: Sterling, Barkley in, Carrick out for England

Roy Hodgson

Roy Hodgson

Roy Hodgson
Roy Hodgson

Everton breakthrough star Ross Barkley, 20, was named in a youthful England World Cup squad on Monday, but Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick only made the standby list.

Chelsea left-back Ashley Cole announced his international retirement on Sunday after being informed by England manager Roy Hodgson that he would not be selected and 18-year-old Southampton defender Luke Shaw took his place.

Liverpool’s 19-year-old winger Raheem Sterling was the second teenager in a squad that featured only six players with previous World Cup experience.

Cole’s Chelsea team-mate Frank Lampard was also selected, despite doubts about the 35-year-old’s inclusion, but Tottenham Hotspur right-back Kyle Walker missed out due to a pelvic injury.

Phil Jones, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Jack Wilshere all overcame injury scares to be included in the 23-man list, while Southampton striker Rickie Lambert was preferred to West Ham United rival Andy Carroll.

Carroll was also named on the standby list, alongside Carrick, Norwich City goalkeeper John Ruddy, Liverpool full-back Jon Flanagan, Everton centre-back John Stones, Manchester United midfielder Tom Cleverley and Jermain Defoe, now of Canadian side Toronto FC.

England have been drawn in Group D at the World Cup in Brazil alongside Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica.

The squad are due to fly to Portugal for a four-day training camp next week, before returning to face Peru at Wembley on May 30 in their final pre-World Cup game on home soil.

Related News

They will then travel to Miami, where they play Ecuador and Honduras on June 4 and 7, before flying to Rio de Janeiro.

England will be based in Rio’s Sao Conrado district during the World Cup and will open their campaign against Italy in the Amazonian city of Manaus on June 14.

England squad for 2014 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic/SCO)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (England), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United)

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC/CAN)