Nigerian power sector to bag WAPIC award

Prof Chinedu Nebo

Prof Chinedu Nebo

Minister of Power, Prof Chinedu Nebo
Minister of Power, Prof Chinedu Nebo

The West African Power Industry Convention (WAPIC) on Monday announced the nomination of Ughelli Power, Geometric Power and Clarke Energy for award for their key roles in the Nigeria’s power sector.

Known as West African Power Industry Awards, WAPIC said in a statement in Abuja that the award ceremony, which would be the first by the convention, would hold on 18 November in Lagos.

The statement by WAPIC’s Communications Manager, Ms Annemarie Roodbol, said that seven award categories, including Lifetime Achievement Award, Power Transaction of the Year and Outstanding Woman, would feature at the event.

It explained that the award was to celebrate “the heroes and success stories of the West African utility industry”.

“Together we are highlighting those companies and executives who have been responsible for pioneering new frontiers, pushing boundaries, for inspiring others and for achieving growth for West Africa,” it said.

The statement said that Lifetime Achievement Award would be won by an individual for his/her outstanding contribution to and impact on the West African power industry.

According to it, those shortlisted in this category are Dr Sam Amadi, Executive Chairman, Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) and Gov. Babatunde Fashola of Lagos State.

Also on the list is former Minister of Power and currently, the Chief Executive Officer, Geometric Power Limited, Prof. Bert Nnaji.

It also said that the Managing Director, Geometric Power Limited, Mrs Agatha Nnaji and Minister of Finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, were nominated for Outstanding Woman in Power award.

Also nominated in that category, according to the statement, is the General Manager, Ikeja Distribution Company, Mr Olubukola Osiberu.

It said that the event would be attended by leading executives from power, renewable energy, finance, and investment sectors.

“The WAPIC is organized by Spintelligent, a leading Cape Town-based trade exhibition and conference organiser and the African Office of Clarion Events Limited based in UK,” it explained.

Related News

Other categories are:

Best Rural Electrification Project

– Alternative Energy Inc, Liberia
– NewEnergy, Nigeria
– Solar Light Company, Ghana

Best Renewable Energy Project

– Ginphed, Nigeria
– O.T. Otis Engineering, Nigeria
– Quintas, Nigeria
– TopStep, Nigeria

Power Transaction of the Year

– Azura-Edo IPP (Siemens), Nigeria
– Clarke Energy, Nigeria
– Ughelli Power Plc, Nigeria

Excellence in Power Transmission or Distribution

– ABB, Nigeria
– O.T. Otis Engineering, Nigeria
– West African Power Pool, Benin

Excellence in Power Generation

– Clarke Energy, Nigeria
– Seven Energy, Nigeria
– Wärtsilä, Nigeria

Load more