UNIBEN to graduate 19, 472 students as 118 bag First Class

Prof. Osayuki Godwin Oshodin

Prof. Osayuki Godwin Oshodin, outgoing VC Uniben

Jethro Ibileke/Benin

Prof. Osayuki Godwin Oshodin, outgoing VC Uniben
Prof. Osayuki Godwin Oshodin, outgoing VC Uniben

A record number of 19, 472 students of the University of Benin (UNIBEN), will graduate in the University’s Convocation and Founder’s Day ceremony slated for Wednesday 19 November, 2014.

The outgoing Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Osayuki Godwin Oshodin who disclosed this during a valedictory press briefing held at the Senate Chamber of the University, said 118 of the graduands would bag First Class honours degree in the week-long ceremony.

Oshodin, who used the opportunity to introduce the in-coming Vice Chancellor, Professor Faraday Osasere Orumwense, to the media, disclosed that the graduating students include those of the 2011/2012 academic session whose graduation were hampered by the long ASUU strike and those of the 2012/2013 academic session.

“This year, we shall be awarding various Diplomas and Degrees of the university to graduands who completed their academic programmes in 2011/2012 and 2012/2013 academic sessions.

Related News

“You can see that we are combining two sessions, the reason for this is that last year, we could not hold our convocation because of the nationwide strike embarked upon by the Academic Staff Union of Nigerian Universities,” Oshodin said.

For the 2011/2012 session, a total of 10, 735 students would be graduated. They are made up of 103 Doctorate Degree (Ph.D), 1933 Masters, 8, 237 Undergraduate Degree and 462 Undergraduate Diploma, while a total of 8, 737 students would be graduated for the 2012/2013 session‎, made up of 27 Doctorate Degree (Ph.D), 449 Masters, 40 Post-graduate Diploma; 7, 839 Undergraduate Degree, and 382 Undergraduate Diploma.

Oshodin also announced that the school would be conferring honorary Doctorate degree on the Benin traditional Prime Minister, Chief Sam Igbe; Reverend Matthew Okpebholo; Mr. Tony Elumelu and Senator Daisy Ehanire Danjuma. He added that two senior Professors of UNIBEN, Professors R. O. Ofoegbu and T. O. K. Audu were going to be conferred with Professor Emeritus of the school.

Oshodin, who said he was fulfilled both as an individual and as a corporate office administrator, said, “This year’s convocation can be described as a valedictory one for me, since this is the last I will be presiding as Vice Chancellor. There is no doubt that the modest achievements of my administration since its inception in November, 2009 have been captured in various publications.”

Load more