Actress Bukky Wright Seeks Reps Ticket

•Bukky Wright

•Bukky Wright

Funsho Arogundade

The rank of entertainers seeking elective positions swelled over the weekend with the entry of star actress, Bukky Sekinat Wright, into the race for the 2015 elections.

Bukky, had on Friday via her Facebook page, announced her intention to contest for a seat in Nigeria’s House of Representatives representing Abeokuta South Federal Constituency, Ogun State under the platform of newly-formed Social Democratic Party, SDP.

The actress’ choice of SDP as a platform have confounded many. Bukky was a known close associate of Otunba Gbenga Daniel, OGD, while the latter was governor of Ogun State.

They were so close that many would have expected that she would move with OGD to PDP.

Bukky Wright campain poster
Bukky Wright campain poster

But while reacting to her fans’ concern on her Facebook page, Bukky assured that there is no cause for alarm as her new party is set to upset the apple cart in Ogun State politics.

“We are coming out on top. Following the basic norms have taken us nowhere,” she said confidently.

Related News

SDP is  a party led by Aremo Olusegun Osoba, former Ogun State governor and erstwhile chieftain of ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, in the state.

Apart from Osoba, all the three serving senators from the state, six House of Representatives members and some members of the State House of Assembly are already in SDP.

Bukky, if she wins the SDP ticket, will be contesting against Segun Williams, one of the two House of Reps members, who refused to decamp from APC.

The other is Kehinde Odeneye representing Ijebu-Ode/Odogbolu/Ijebu-North-East Federal Constituency.

Williams defeated Dimeji Bankole, former Speaker, House of Reps, during the 2011 National Assembly elections.

Since the jostling for tickets for the 2015 elections began a couple of months ago, there have been a growing number of entertainers joining the race. Notables are Kate Henshaw, 9ice, Dayo Adeneye, Kenneth Okonkwo, Kenny Saint Best and Desmond Elliot, to mention a few.

Load more