Aregbesola Sworn In For 2nd Term

Aregbesola After voting

Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola

Jamiu Yisa

Osogbo was in a festive mood on Thursday as Governor of Osun State, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, took oath of office for a second term in office.

As early as 8am people had started trooping to the Osogbo City Stadium, venue of the swearing in ceremony and by 10am, the about 30,000 capacity stadium had been filled up with people taking over the pitch.

The public holiday declared by the Governor contributed to the massive crowd.

Related News

Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola
Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola

Prominent members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came in with the Governor around 12 noon.

Those who came in with the Governor in the same bus were: National Leader of APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu; presidential aspirant, General Muhammad Buhari; Governor of Edo State, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole; his Kwara counterpart, Abdul Fattah Ahmed; Governor of Ogun, Senator Ibikunle Amosu; former Governors of Osun State: Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Chief Bisi Akande and Senator Isiaka Adeleke; former Governors of Ekiti State: Dr Kayode Fayemi, Engineer Segun Oni and Otunba Niyi Adebayo; National Publicity Secretary of APC, Alhaji Lai Muhammad; First Ladies of Osun, Oyo, Ogun and Lagos States among others.

Aregbesola took a parade round the stadium and also took salute from security agencies present at the event.

The Deputy Governor, Mrs Grace Laoye-Tomori was sworn in around 1.15pm while Governor Rauf Adesoji Aregbesola took oath of office around 1.20pm.

Load more