Falcons coach invites Liverpool's Oshoala, 35 others

Edwin Okon

Edwin Okon: Sacked

Edwin Okon, Super Falcons coach
Edwin Okon, Super Falcons coach

Edwin Okon, the Head Coach of the Super Falcons, has called to camp 36 players in preparation for a number of qualifying matches, and the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

NAN reports that the Falcons have to play in the qualifiers for the 11th All-Africa Games and the 2016 Olympic Games.

The invited players, made up of 10 foreign-based and 26 home-based girls, are to report at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Abuja on Sunday, Feb. 22.

“They are to report with their training kits, international passports and birth certificates,” a statement by Ademola Olajire, the Assistant Director of Communications, Nigeria Football Association (NFA), said on Friday.

Among those listed are goalkeepers Ibubeleye Whyte and Precious Dede, and defenders Onome Ebi, Faith Ikidi and Ngozi Ebere.

Others are midfielders Halimat Ayinde, Cecilia Nku and Osarenoma Igbinovia, and strikers Asisat Oshoala, Uchechi Sunday and Desire Oparanozie.

The Falcons, who are billed for the 7th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals which begins in Canada on June 6, have an All-Africa Games qualifier away to Mali on March 22.

The return leg match is in Nigeria three weeks later, before they clash with the same Malian side in May in a 2016 Olympic Games qualifying fixture.

Related News

The invited players:

Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (FK Minsk, Belarus); Osinachi Ohale (Houston Dash, USA); Francisca Ordega (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onyinyechi Okere (Edo Queens); Alaba Jonathan (Pelican Stars); Christy Ohieriaku (Osun Babes)

Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels); Precious Dede (Ibom Queens); Ugochi Njoku (Rivers Angels); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Halimat Ayinde (Delta Queens)

Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechi Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Esther Sunday (Pelican Stars); Chisom Henry (Sunshine Queens); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels)

Desire Oparanozie (EN Avent De Guingamp); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels)

Chikodi Amaefuna (Edo Queens); Courtney Dike (Oklahoma State University, USA); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Pelican Stars); Patience Agbokadi (Sunshine Queens); Osarenoma Igbinovia (Ibom Queens)

Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Yetunde Adeboyejo (Bayelsa Queens); Uchechi Sunday (Belarus); Sarah Nnodim (Delta Queens); Ebere Okoye (Nasarawa Amazons); Sarah Michael (Kif Orebro, Sweden)

Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels); Ini Umotong (Portsmouth Ladies, UK); Okewole Funke (Sunshine Queens)