Lagos Speaker: I Have No Anointed Candidate, says Tinubu

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

Jamiu Yisa & Eromosele Ebhomele

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu
Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

As the race over who succeeds Sabit Adeyemi Ikuforiji as the next Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly when the 8th Assembly resumes in June continues to gathers steam, the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has insisted that he has no anointed aspirant among those gunning for the job.

Tinubu reiterated his position when two chieftains of the party came to his Bourdillon residence to seek his support for Lagos Central Senatorial District to clinch the office.

The duo, Chief Tajudeen Oluyole Olusi and Alhaji Mutiu Are, went to Tinubu to seek his support that the Speakership seat be zoned to the senatorial district.

They also want Lagos Island Local Government to clinch the office with particular reference to a candidate.

However, Tinubu told the visiting duo that he has no intention of imposing his will or candidate on the Assembly members.

“I have not anointed any candidate and I will not anoint any. Let the Assembly members choose whoever they believe can lead them aright,” Tinubu was quoted to have told his guests.

Meanwhile, three aspirants for the job stepped down at a meeting that lasted late into the night of Thursday, P.M.NEWS learnt this morning.

Two of the three aspirants, Gbolahan Yishawu and Kazeem Alimi, both from Lagos Central, announced at the meeting that they were stepping down for Moshood Oshun, also from Lagos Central.

Related News

Sanai Agunbiade, a ranking member from Lagos East also stepped down from the race, but it was not clear at the time of this report why he stepped down.

With this development, Oshun, a ranking member and House Committee chairman on Local Government Administration and Chieftaincy Affairs, seems to be taking
the lead ahead of Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni, a former chairman of the Lagos Island Local Government and member-elect, whose electoral victory is still being challenged by incumbent member Hakeem Masha.

With Agunbiade stepping down, Lagos East now has one aspirant, Rotimi Abiru.

It was learnt that none of the aspirants from Lagos West Senatorial District agreed to step down for any reason.

Aspirants from Lagos West for the speakership position are Dayo Fafunmi, Adefunmilayo Tejuosho, Lanre Ogunyemi and Mudashiru Obasa.

Though the members are allowed to make their choice, the ultimate decision lies with the All Progressives Congress, APC, which has a total of 32 out of the 40 members of the House.

A lawmaker who confirmed the development to our correspondent Friday morning, said if the yet-to-be confirmed zoning arrangement is real, Oshun remains the most qualified for the position, being the highest ranking member from Lagos Central Senatorial District.

Meanwhile, the valedictory service of the Seventh Assembly held Friday. The session was about to begin at the time of this report.

Load more