Funsho Arogundade

Ten of Africa’s most influential and iconic contemporary musicians have been nominated for the “Evolution” award, to be presented at the MTV Africa Music Awards, MAMA 2015.

Nominated in the category are Nigeria’s 2Face Idibia, Asa, D’Banj and P-Square.

•2Face performs at the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards.

•2Face performs at the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards.

South Africa’s top acts Black Coffee and HHP are also in the list.

Others are Anselmo Ralph (Angola),  Chameleone (Uganda), Fally Ipupa (DRC) and Samini (Ghana).
The winner of the Evolution award will be decided jointly by MTV Base and music fans voting online, and via Twitter and Instagram.

Tim Horwood, Channel Director, MTV Base, said “the MAMA Evolution Award is to honour established artistes who have made an indelible mark on African and global music culture, taken African music to new territories around the world, pushed the boundaries of creativity, and shaped the soundscape of contemporary Africa.”

Celebrating the evolution of African musicians by recognising contemporary artistes and trailblazers across a range of music and lifestyle categories, the MAMA 2015 will broadcast live across Africa on MTV Base (DStv channel 322), MTV (DStv channel 130) and BET (DStv channel 129) on Saturday, 18 July at 9:00pm.

The show will also be transmitted worldwide on partner stations and content platforms including BET International from 18 July.

In addition, a special MAMA-themed edition of MTV’s acclaimed World Stage franchise will air globally on MTV channels around the world on 27 August.