Ambode appoints new bosses for Security Trust Fund, Water Corporation


Water tap

Kazeem Ugbodaga


Lagos State Governor, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode has approved the appointment of Mr Oye Hassan –Odukale as the new Chairman of the State Security Trust Fund (LSSTF) Board of Trustees subject to the ratification of the State House of Assembly.

He succeeds Chief Remi Makanjuola whose tenure as Chairman of the Board of Trustees has expired after serving two terms.

The governor also appointed Engr. Muminu Adekunle Badmus as the new Managing Director for the Lagos Water Corporation.

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Tunji Bello, the Governor also named a former Deputy Majority Leader in the State House of Assembly, Dr Abdulrasak Mobolaji Balogun as the Executive Secretary of the Fund following the resignation of Mr Fola Arthur-Worrey.

The Governor also approved the appointment of other members of the board of Trustees of the LSSTF to include, Managing Director of Access Bank, Mr Herbert Wigwe, Mr Yemi Idowu, Mr Opeyemi Agbaje, Managing Director of UBA, Mr Philips Oduoza and DIG Israel Ajao (retd).

Other members of the Board of Trustees named by the Governor are the Commissioner for Housing, Mr Gbolahan Lawal and Special Adviser Office of Overseas Affairs and Investment, Professor Ademola Abass.

The appointment of Dr Abdulrasak Mobolaji Balogun who holds a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) from the University of Maiduguri and Masters in Public Administration and Public Health from the Lagos State University and the University of Lagos respectively, takes effect from Tuesday, 10 November, 2015.

Related News

The tenure of the last Board of Trustees of the State Security Trust Fund expires on 15 November this year and the former members have already served two terms and are ineligible for another term.

Meanwhile, Ambode also appointed Badmus as the new Managing Director for Lagos Water Corporation.

Badmus, a native of Epe Alaro Ogunmodede in Lagos State, is a Mechanical engineering graduate of the University of the District of Columbia and Howard University.

His appointment takes effect after the former MD of the Corporation, Engr. Shayo Holloway resigned recently after eight years of service to the Water Corporation.

Before his appointment, Mr. Badmus had worked in various capacities, he was a Senior Manager with the District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority, a.k.a. DC Water, who supervised the Operation and Maintenance of Water Distribution to the White House and other parts of Washington DC, and a thirty-year veteran of engineering profession.

He was in-charge of DC Water’s Capital Improvement Program (CIP) a Construction and Maintenance projects for the DC Water and Wastewater Authority. Badmus worked his way up through several engineering design, construction and operation projects, including Technology for sewer lateral replacement, Fat Oil and Grease (FOG), Wireless supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system, Vulnerability Assessments and various improvements to the aging water and sewer frame in the District.

He also took charge of long-term sewer infrastructural planning, standardization of DC’s water and sewer infrastructure and the US Federal Government’s Clean Water program in the District.

Mr. Badmus joined DC Water in 1990 after a five-year stint with Prince Williams County Government in the State of Virginia. He is also a member of many professional bodies including American Society of Mechanical Engineers and Water Environmental Foundation (WEF).

The newly appointed MD is expected to move the Corporation forward taking into cognizance his years of experience and understanding of Water Industry.