Buhari contradicts self, assigns portfolio to all ministers

President Muhammadu Buhari laugh smiles

President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria
President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari has contradicted himself after swearing-in 36 ministers and assigning portfolios to all them on Wednesday, 11 November.

Buhari had stated repeatedly that not all ministers will be given portfolios, noting that, his decision to appoint 36 ministers was informed by the constitution.

During an interview with Channels TV, he said Nigeria was too broke and could not afford 36 ministers but it seems he has backpedaled on his earlier stance.

Watch video here:

Here are his 36 ministers and the office they occupy.

Former Rivers state governor, Rotimi Amaechi who hails Rivers was assigned to the Ministry of Transportation while Chris Ngige (Anambra) was assigned Labour and Employment.

Former Ekiti state governor was assigned Minister of Solid Minerals while Babatunde Fashola (Lagos) was named Minister for Power, Works and Housing.

Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) who impressed and dazzled the senate during her screening was assigned to the Ministry of Finance.

Related News

Others Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano) Interior, Aisha Alhassan (Taraba) Women Affairs, Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi) Science and Technology, Abubakar Malami (Kebbi) Justice.

Others are, Hadi Sirika (Katsina)–State for Aviation, Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)–Water Resources, Solomon Dalong (Plateau)–Youths and Sports, Ibe Kachikwu (Delta)–State for Petroleum, Osagie Ehanire (Edo)–State for Health, Audu Ogbeh (Benue)–Agriculture, Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)–Budget and National Planning.

All Progressives Congress national publicity secretary, Lai Mohammed (Kwara) was assigned to the Ministry of Information while Amina Mohammed (Gombe) got Environment.

Other ministers are: Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)–State, Environment, Anthony Onwuka (Imo), State for Education, Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa)–FCT, Adamu Adamu (Bauchi)–Education, Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia)–Industry Trade and Investment.

Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) State for Trade, Industry and Investment, Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe), State for Foreign Affairs, Claudius Daramola (Ondo)–State, Niger Delta, Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu)–Foreign Affairs.

Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara) Defence, James Ocholi (Kogi), State for Labour, Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna), State for Budget, Mustapha Shehuri (Borno) State for Power, Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa) State for Agriculture.

Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun) is Minister for Health, Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River)– Niger Delta
Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger) State for Solid Minerals, Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) Communications while Muhammadu Buhari will be Minister of Petroleum.