SuperSport, AIT, others to broadcast Glo-CAF Awards live

Fbl-Afr-CAF-Enyeama-Yaya Toure-NGR-ENGPrem-GER-GAB

Asisat Oshoala with her trophy

Asisat Oshoala with her trophy
Asisat Oshoala with her trophy

Football lovers across the world will watch the glamorous 2015 Glo-CAF Awards live on their television sets.

The award gala takes place Thursday evening in Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria.

The event sponsor and next generation network, Globacm, said arrangements had been concluded for television stations such as Africa Independent Television (AIT), SuperSport, Canal 2 and Sport 5 to broadcast the awards live from the venue, the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

Globacom said the live broadcast would enable people all over the world to watch how Africa honours its illustrious sons and daughters who have distinguished themselves either as players or administrators in the last one year.

Related News

“We recognize that not everyone would be able to attend the show. The live broadcast will, therefore, enable those who are not at the venue to watch the show from the comfort of their homes or offices. We want Africans and other football lovers to be able to share this glorious moment with us. The event will start at 6 p.m., while the live telecast will commence on the mentioned stations from 9pm to 11 pm Central African Time,” the company explained.

Already, the Federal Capital Territory is abuzz with excitement as top football celebrities led by the the acting President of FIFA and President of Confederation of African Football, Alhaji Isa Hayatou, as well as leading entertainers scheduled to perform at the show have arrived in the city.

The top entertainers who are already in Abuja include Malian sensation, Salif Keita, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, a South African male choral group, Awilo Longomba, Charles Nii Armah Mensah Jnr, Ahmed Soultan, D’banj, Korede Bello, Di’ja, alternative soul singer, Bez, Omawumi, Ego and King Sunny Ade. All of these top musicians cum entertainers are also Globacom Ambassadors.

A major highlight of the evening will be the crowning of African Footballer of the Year. The three players in contention are Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon & Borrussia Dortmund of Germany, four-time African Player of the Year, Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City, and Andrew Ayew of Ghana and Swansea City FC.