Ogun assembly approves creation of 37 LCDAs

Governor Ibikunle Amosun

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State

Governor Ibikunle Amosun  of Ogun State
Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State
The Ogun State House of Assembly has passed into law the Local Government Amendment Bill 2016, for the creation of 37 local council development areas (LCDAs).

The passage of the bill titled: “H.B No. 02/OG/ 2016- The Local Government ( Creation and Transitional Provisions) Amendments Law, 2016,” was sequel to the report of the Committee of the Whole House presented by the Deputy Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo.

Oluomo moved for the adoption of the report during plenary in Abeokuta and was seconded by Adebowale Ojuri, representing Odogbolu constituency.

He said that referendum was conducted in five out of the 37 proposed LCDAs, adding that the House also conducted a three-day stakeholders’ forum where memoranda were submitted and treated fairly by the House.

Oluomo, representing Ifo 1 constituency disclosed that after a thorough scrutiny of the referendum report, the committee recommended that the name of the 20 existing local government council areas in the state be maintained with their respective headquarters.

According to him, “The 37 LCDA’s which are listed in the schedule to the law are inchoate until such a time as the National Assembly shall pass an Act to make consequential provisions with respect to the names of the LCDA’s.

“Section 2(1) and (11) of the States : “The Local Government Areas for the time being listed in part 1 of schedule 1 of the 1999 constitution and in the schedule of the Amendment Law remain valid and in existence.

“That all other local government areas listed in schedule 11 of the Amendment Law shall for the time being, operate as Local Council Development Areas, the funding of which shall be borne by state government”, Oluomo explained.

The Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe, moved the motion for the third reading of the bill, while it was seconded by Oyenuga Olufowobi.

The Clerk of the House, Mr Muyiwa Adenopo, read the bill for the third time, while the Speaker, Mr Suraj Adekunbi, ordered that the clean copy of the bill be forwarded to the governor for his assent.

Governor Ibikunle Amosun had on March 10,2016 sent an executive bill to the House seeking to restructure the existing 20 local government councils and create additional 37 LCDAs.

With the passage of the bill into law, these are the 57 Local Government Areas & Local Council Development Areas in the state. Newly created ones asterisked

1. Abeokuta North Akomoje
2 * Abeokuta North West Lafenwa
3*. Abeokuta North East Ita Iyalode
4.* Oke Ogun Imala
5. Abeokuta South Ake
6.*Abeokuta South East Ijeun Titun
7*.Abeokuta South West Ijeja
8.Ado Odo/ Ota Ota
9.*Ado Odo Ado Odo
10*.Agbara/Igbesa Igbesa
11.*Ota West Atan Ota
12*.Sango/ Ijoko Sango
13.Ewekoro. Itori
14.*Ewekoro North Wasinmi
15.Ifo Ifo
16*.Ifo Central Agbado
17.*Coker Ibogun Ibogun
18.* Ifo South Ojodu
19.Ijebu East Ogbere
20*.Ijebu East Central Ojowo
21.Ijebu North Ijebu Igbo
22*.Ijebu North Central Oru
23.* Ijebu Igbo West Ojowo
24.*Ago Iwoye Ibipe
25.Ijebu North East Atan
26.*Yemoji Ilese
27.Ijebu Ode Ijebu Ode
28.* Ijebu Ode South Oke Aje
29.Ikenne Ikenne
30.*Remo Central Iperu
31.Imeko Imeko
32.*Afon Oloka Afon
33.Ipokia Ipokia
34.* Ipokia West Ijofin
35.*Idi Iroko Idi Iroko
36.Obafemi Owode Owode
37.*Oba Oba
38.*Obafemi Obafemi
39.*Ofada/ Mokoloki Mowe
40.Odeda Odeda
41.*Opeji Opeji
42.*Ilugun Ilugun
43.Odogbolu Odogbolu
44.*Leguru Ala
45.*Ifesowapo Imodi
46.Ogun Waterside Abigi
47.*Ogun Waterside East Bolorunduro Efire
48.Remo North Isara
49.*Remo North East Ode Remo
50. Sagamu Central Sagamu
51.*Sagamu Remo West Makun
52.*Sagamu Remo South Sotubo
53.Yewa North Ayetoro
54.*Iju Iboro
55.*Ketu Tata
56.Yewa South Ilaro
57.*Yewa South East Oke Odan

Load more