20 INEC staff reinstated



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said in the commission’s daily bulletin issued on Monday in Abuja that it had reinstated 20 members of staff, who were unduly retired or dismissed or whose appointments were terminated by it.

The statement stated that the affected officers were reinstated in compliance with the order of the Industrial Court, regular courts or the Court of Appeal, respectively.

The reinstated officers, according to the publication, were Michael Nwankwo, Chineye Amakiri, Benjamin Nwajagu, James Ukaba, Dennis Ogbu, Henry Mbonu, Obinna Nwosu and Friday Mgbere.

Others were Dayan Moore, Cordelia Modeme, Asuquo Affia, Ifeyinwa Umeadi, Osunlola Akinyinka, Emmanuel Owette, Alex Ejesieme and Chukwujekwu Okeke.

Also reinstated by the commission were Mr Emmanuel Bassey, Akao James, Oni Babajide and Gbenga Ajayi.

According the statement, the commission had approved the dismissal of Agudosi Maryann from its service for absenteeism “in line with INEC Staff and Condition of Service’’.

Related News

The commission said that it had also sanctioned three other members of staff for offences bordering on misconduct.

“INEC also approved the reduction of the rank of Ameh Onoja, and his posting out of Kogi state for misconduct (dereliction of duty) in line with Public Service Rules (PSR) Part V, Rule 15(i), and INEC Condition of Service.

“Similarly, Leah Abalaka and Abor Tabitha have been given written warning and are to be posted out of the state for general inefficiency and incompetence, in line with INEC Condition of Service, 3.04 (c),’’ it stated.

Meanwhile, the commission said it had concluded plans to hold a five-day workshop from June 12 to June 18, for its Operations and Logistics Officers across the country.

It explained that the workshop would lead to the development of Electoral Operations Road Map for the 2019 general elections.