Miss Nigeria unveils 2016 contestants




The organisers of the 40th Miss Nigeria pageant, Daily Times of Nigeria (DTN), on Friday unveiled the 38 contestants from among whom the Queen will be crowned on Dec. 19 in Lagos.

A statement from DTN by eth Communications, said in Lagos that the contestants from the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) would represent the country’s rich heritage.

The statement said the contestants were the successful candidates who passed through the audition stages held in four different locations in Abuja, Port Harcourt, Enugu and Lagos.

It disclosed that they headed to camp immediately after the auditions.

“In camp, they have been involved in different activities, including three days intensive empowerment training at the Nigerian Export Promotion Council (NEPC) on etiquette classes with Mrs Janet Adetu and fun choreography sessions.

“Other activities in the camp are courtesy/facility visits, the CAF Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations at Eko Atlantic, Victoria Island courtesy of PowerHorse and mentorship by a renowned WIMBIZ member, among others,’’ it said.

The statement said the selected contestants would be judged based on the following criteria — punctuality, etiquette, daily tasks and also the Green Girl Challenge.

“On Dec. 19, the Miss Nigeria 2016 Queen will be crowned at the Eko Convention Centre, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island Lagos.

“To support your favourite contestant and experience the glitz and glamour of the event, get your tickets for N5, 000 or N10, 000 at Eko Hotel and Suits, or online at www.afriticket.com,’’ it added.

The statement said that other outlets for ticket sales include Fahrenheit Hotel, U.S. Polo Surulere and Apapa Mall and Ebeano Supermarkets.

The rest are Genesis Deluxe Cinemas, Slot Surulere, Ikeja City Mall, Saka Tinubu, Ikorodu, FESTAC and Computer Village and Studio 24 nationwide.

The statement listed the contestants as Miss Onyinye (Abia), Miss Princess (FCT) Miss Gladys (Adamawa) Miss Idorenyin (Akwa Ibom) Miss Chioma (Anambra) Miss Edith (Bauchi) and Miss Isaac (Bayelsa).

Also Miss Anna (Benue), Miss Blessing (Borno), Miss Sharon (Cross River), Miss Winfrey (Delta), Miss Blessing (Ebonyi), Miss Sharon (Edo), Miss Tobi (Ekiti), Miss Anita (Enugu) and Miss Cordelia (Gombe).

Others are Miss Chiamaka (Imo), Miss Maryann (Jigawa), Miss Joan (Kaduna), Miss Frances (Kano), Miss Aminat (Katsina), Miss Loretta (Kebbi) Miss Folashade (Kogi), Miss Shade (Kwara) and Miss Deborah (Lagos).

The rest are Miss June (Nasarawa) Miss Erica (Niger), Miss Winifred (Ogun), Miss Sandra (Ondo), Miss Eniola (Osun) Miss Abisola (Oyo), Miss Ebosetale (Plateau), Miss Angela (Rivers), Miss Sarah (Sokoto), Miss Salima (Taraba) Miss Adenike (Yobe) Miss Akeela (Zamfara) and Miss Joy (FCT).

The statement urged Nigeria not to miss the Ruby edition, noting that Miss Nigeria 2016 was the country’s heritage.

Load more