Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has approved the redeployment of Ekpo Nta, chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

Nta was redeployed to the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission.

Former President Goodluck Jonathan appointed Nta in 2012.

In a statement on Tuesday, Bolaji Adebiyi, director of press in the office of the secretary of the government of the federation, said Bolaji Owasanoye, a professor, has been appointed as chairman with a renewable tenure of five years.

“The appointment of the chairman is for five years, while the tenure of all the members is four years,” the statement read.

“Also, these appointments are subject to senate confirmation.”

The role of the Senate in the confirmation of some appointees by the executive generated controversy after Osinbajo expressed support for the view of Femi Falana, human rights lawyer, that Ibrahim Magu, acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), does not need to be confirmed by the senate.

The new ICPC chairman was a member of the presidential committee on anti-corruption led by Itse Sagay, a senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

The statement also announced the appointments of Grace Chinda, Okolo Titus, Obiora Igwedebia, Olubukola Balogun, Sam Ewang, a retired air force officer, Adamu Bello, a retired justice, Hannatu Mohammed and Abdullahi Saidu as members of the anti-graft agency.

Musa Abubakar was named secretary, while Sa’ad Alanamu, Yahaya Daud, Khamis Mailantarki and Maimuna Aliyu were also announced as members.

The acting president also named Okoi Obona-Obla, special assistant to the president on prosecution, as the chairman of the committee to recover public property.

Akingbolahan Adeniran was appointed the secretary of the committee.

Follow us on twitter @thecableng