Anthony Joshua knocks out Alexander Povetkin in seventh round


Joshua knocked out Povetkin

Joshua knocked out Povetkin

Kazeem Ugbodaga/Agency Report

World Heavyweight champion, Anthony Joshua has knocked out Alexander Povetkin in the seventh round of their world title fight.

Povetkin didn’t have it his own way but Joshua was just too powerful. Alexander Povetkin was stopped for the first time in his career.

Joshua retained his WBA, IBF, WBO and IBO titles after round seven stoppage knockout.

Referee Steve Gray had dived in, Joshua was in the middle of another onslaught and Povetkin ended the fight on the canvas, but it was already over.

Watch video of Joshua knocks out Povetkin

Related News

The IBF, WBO and WBA champion, criticised in some quarters for failing to finalise a deal with the division’s other high-profile names, responded emphatically with a seventh-round stoppage of the Russian, who had never been beaten inside the distance.

After an early chess match in which Joshua suffered a bloodied nose before cutting his rival, the Briton grew in confidence and a savage right hand followed by a left hook began an onslaught which would prove telling.

Joshua with his belt

Another right-left combination downed Povetkin, who somehow made the count, only to stagger into a left hook which saw him slump into the ropes, leaving referee Steve Gray with no option but to intervene.

Roars poured down to ringside as the rain had all day, with Joshua’s corner ecstatic and rightly so. His display showcased poise, intellect and power, sending a message to the heavyweight division that the champion will take some stopping, BBC reports.

Load more