Election: INEC announces Buhari as winner in Kogi

Buhari wins


Buhari wins in Kogi

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday announced President Muhamadu Buhari of All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday’s presidential election in Kogi.

The result was announced at the National Collation Centre (ICC) Abuja, by Prof. Michael Adikwu, Vice Chancellor, University of Abuja, who is the Collation Officer for the election in the state.

Adikwu announced that Buhari polled 285,894 votes to defeat People’s Democratic Party (PDP)’s Atiku Abubakar, who scored 218,207 votes.

Dr Obadiah Mailafia of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) came third with 4,369 votes.

According to him, Da-Silva Ayo of Save Nigeria Congress (SNC) scored 2,226 votes, Felix Nicholas of Peoples Coalition Party (PCP) polled 2,207 votes.

Related News

He said the Social Democratic Party (SDP) polled 646 votes, and Mr Yabagi Yusuf of African Democratic Party (ADP), 499 votes.

Other scores, Adikwu said, were 480 votes for Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA), 436 votes for Progressive People Alliance (PPA) and 410 votes for Social Democratic Party (SDP).

He said the number of registered voters in Kogi was 1,640,449 but that 570,773 were accredited, while votes cast were 553,496 with 32,480 rejected.

Adikwu noted that there were cases of violence in 15 out of 21 local government areas in the state, including in Adavi, Ankpa, Bassa, Dekina, Ibaji, Idah, Igala-Mela which led to cancellation of 89,101 votes.