New Speaker emerges in Kaduna Assembly

Yusuf Ibrahim Zailani

Kaduna Assembly Speaker, Yusuf Ibrahim Zailani

Yusuf Ibrahim Zailani

A new Speaker has been elected at the Kaduna State House of Assembly, barely an hour the former Speaker, Abdullahi Shagali resigned.

The new Speaker is. Yusuf Ibrahim Zailani.

Zailani, who represents Igabi West Constituency in the Assembly, was the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly until his election to lead the House on Tuesday.

Zailani is a strong member of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Also, Hon Mukhatar Isa Hazo, representing Bassawa Constituency has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker.

Both of them have been sworn-in by the Clark of the Assembly.

Related News

The former Speaker, who represents Sabon-Gari Constituency in the Assembly, officially submitted his resignation letter to clerk of the House Tuesday morning.

According to The Nation, members of the House had started collecting signatures to impeach him before he eventually bowed to pressure and resigned.

Chairman, House Committee on information, Honourable Tanimu Musa confirmed he submitted his resignation letter.

However, Shagali’s offence warranting the alleged plan impeachment was yet to be unraveled as the time of filing this report.