Abiodun swears in 20 newly elected LG chairmen

Ogun council chairmen take oath of office

Ogun council chairmen take oath of office

Ogun council chairmen take oath of office
Ogun council chairmen take oath of office
By Abiodun Lawal

Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has sworn in 20 newly elected local government councils chairmen.

P.M. News noted that all newly elected chairmen were from the ruling party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Speaking during the ceremony in Abeokuta on Monday, Abiodun promised to provide good governance which would continue to strengthen the local government administration in the state.

Abiodun and the council chairmen
Abiodun and the council chairmen

He said that the election could have taken place earlier but for the outbreak of COVID-19 and the need to adhere strictly to the prevention protocols.

The governor added that their assumption of office should bring a new vista of development to the people at the grassroots.

Abiodun charged them to be inclusive, transparent, accountable, fair, equitable, obey the rule of law, provide good governance and be judicious.

Meanwhile, he urged them not to rely exclusively on allocations from the Federal Government, urging them to be creative in generating funds internally, as well as through the Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) model.

“But in doing this, you cannot afford to over-burden the people who are the essence and facilitators of your being in power.

“You should take a cue from our approach at the state level by being cerebral, methodical, systemic and ensure strategic allocation of funds.

Related News

“Let me assure you all that our administration at the state level will continue to support our council areas with funds where and when necessary.

“We must understand that the democratic process does not end at electing representatives but also in helping them to do what we have elected them to do,” he said.

The governor expressed optimism that the new chairmen would justify the confidence reposed on them by providing credible and quality leadership and services at their respective councils.

He reassured that his administration would continue to respect the autonomy of the local councils by giving necessary support to the chairmen to carry out their constitutional responsibilities.

Earlier, in his goodwill message, the Paramount Ruler of Yewa Land, Oba Kehinde Olugbenle, urged the chairmen to seek counsel from traditional rulers to move the councils forward.

Mr Yemi Sanusi, the State Caretaker Chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC ) appealed to the chairmen to embark on grassroots programmes.

Sanusi said that it was important to alleviate the suffering of the p
eople at the grassroots level.

All the chairmen

1. Omolaja Majekodunmi – Abeokuta South
2. Adebayo Ayorinde – Abeokuta North
3. Olusegun Ogunleye – Ikenne
4. Ogunyomi Oluwole – Yewa North
5. Salami Adebayo – Yewa South
6. Wale Adedayo – Ijebu East
7. Fadipe Akande – Imeko-Afon
8. Ladejobi Adebayo – Odogbolu
9. Ogunsola Lanrewaju – Obafemi Owode
10.Kikelomo Delano – Ifo
11.Sikiru Adesina – Ewekoro
12.Emilola Gazal – Ijebu-Ode
13.Mudashiru Adekunle – Waterside
14.Agbetokun Wasiu – Ipokia
15.Afolabi Odulate – Sagamu
16.Folusho Badejo – Ijebu North East
17.Odusanya Bolaji – Ijebu North
18.Musa Sheriff – Ado Odo
19.Adeyemo Folashade – Odeda
20.Odunsi Adedapo – Remo North

Load more