Okowa swears in 11 more commissioners

Ifeanyi Okowa 2

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa
Governor Ifeanyi Okowa

By Ifeanyi Olannye

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa on Thursday swore in 11 more commissioners to conclude the process of reconstituting his cabinet following its dissolution in May.

The governor had earlier sworn in 18 commissioners, out of which seven are females.

Okowa charged the new commissioners to promote unity in their utterances and actions and eschew mutual suspicion.

He said they should avoid issues that would breed distrust, exclusion and resentment among the people of the state.

He said the appointees emerged through a rigorous selection process that was necessary, especially as the administration entered a critical phase.

While congratulating them on their new appointment, Okowa noted that the state was breaking the frontiers of female representation in government with the appointment of seven female commissioners and 17 vice chairmen of local councils.

“With today’s swearing-in, we have concluded the process of reconstituting the State Executive Council that was dissolved a little over two months ago.

“With two more female commissioners, the State Executive Council now has a total of seven women, further extending the frontiers of female representation in this government.

“Clearly, Delta is breaking new grounds in this regard. To all the commissioners, it is my hope that you will justify the confidence that has been reposed in you with this appointment,” Okowa said.

He said his administration had made significant breakthroughs in its quest to build a “Stronger Delta” standing on the tripod of prosperity, peace and progress.

In addition, he said his administration had successfully anchored the entrepreneurship development programmes with over 100,000 youths being empowered to become self-employed and employers of labour.

Related News

The governor urged the commissioners to brace up and work towards achieving the administration’s set targets within the remaining period of his term in office.

“With less than two years to the terminal date of this administration, every remaining minute counts as we strive to deliver on our goals and promises to the good people of Delta.

“From our novel entrepreneurship development programmes to the massive infrastructure investment in the state, especially in the riverside communities, we have sustained our efforts to leave a legacy of a strong, united and prosperous state.

“And, these efforts are being acknowledged by those who understand what development is all about,” he said.

“It is going to take all of us talking together, planning together and working together to change the current narrative in many of our communities.

“As you commence your stewardship today, I want to leave you with some leadership principles that are vital to your success. You must make it a priority to align yourself and your ideas to the key policy thrusts of this administration.

“An idea may be good in and of itself, but may not be very relevant to the focus of this administration. Hence, it is imperative that as commissioners, you are constantly in tune with the direction we are headed in order to make a quick success of your work.”

Responding on behalf of the new commissioners, Prof. Patrick Muoboghare, thanked God for the appointment and appreciated the governor for finding them worthy to serve.

He pledged the commissioners’ resolve to render effective and efficient service to the residents of the state.

The newly sworn-in commissioners apart from Muoboghare were Mr Chika Ossai; Basil Ganagana; Chief Emmanuel Amgbaduba; Dr Mordi Ononye and Ovie Oghoore.

Others were: Mrs Bridget Anyafulu, Mr Solomon Golley; Mr Isaiah Bozimo, Henry Sakpra and Mrs Jennifer Oma Adasen.


Load more