Akwa United win Nigeria's professional league, victory parade today

Akwa United captain, Otobong Effiong receives the NPFL cup

Akwa United , NPFL champions and Rivers United will represent Nigeria in CAF Champions league. Enyimba fall to Confed Cup

Akwa United captain, Otobong Effiong receives the NPFL cup
Akwa United captain, Otobong Effiong receives the NPFL cup
By Olawale Alabi

Akwa United Football Club of Uyo on Sunday comfortably won the 2020/2021 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL), with a victory parade slated for Uyo today.

The 25-year-old club, who won their first premier league title, beat MFM FC of Lagos 5-2 in their week 37 match.

Although they still have a match in hand, Akwa United have now moved to 71 points to take an unassailable lead in the competition.

Akwa United players flaunt their trophy: Victory parade on Monday
Akwa United players flaunt their trophy: Victory parade on Monday

They were presented with the League cup on Sunday.

They won their Game 37 with a flourish, with Charles Atshimene grabbing a hat-trick in the 24th and 85th minutes, and the second minute of final added time.

Alimi Adebayo’s own goal in the second minute of first half added time, and Mfon Udoh’s 62nd minute goals added to their goals’ haul.

The 2013 Federation Cup and 2018 Aiteo Cup winners however conceded twice during the game, from Michael Mbonu’s 68th minute penalty kick and Dennis Obasi’s 89th minute goal.

They have so far won 19 matches, drawn 14 and lost four, while scoring 52 goals and conceding 22 for a goals difference of +30 to stay miles away from their rivals.

The club has announced a victory parade that will take place in Uyo on Monday, according to a statement by Mfon Patrick, the media manager.

“In the spirit of Akwa United’s NPFL triumph, the Chairman, Management, Players and Staff of our victorious team invites all our fans and supporters to join the club’s VICTORY PARADE on Monday, 2nd August, 2021 by 11 a.m”, Patrick said.

“The routes: Nwaniba Water Fountain, through Edet Akpan Avenue (Four Lanes) to Nsikak Eduok Avenue (Two lanes) to IBB Avenue, down to Atiku Abubakar Avenue, to Ikot Ekpene Road, straight down to Ibom Plaza, through to Oron Road, to Nwaniba road through Dominic Utuk Avenue to terminate at Wellington Bassey Way Round-about.

“Dress code: White and Orange”.

The competition which began on 27 Dec.2020 is scheduled to end on Thursday.

But Akwa United’s win on Sunday took them nine points ahead of second-placed Nasarawa United of Lafia and third-placed Enyimba International of Aba who have 62 points each.

Mathematically, no other club can catch up with them.


Position Team PL GD PTS

1. Akwa United 37 +30 71

2. Nasarawa United 36 +16 62

Related News

3. Enyimba International 36 +6 62

4. Kano Pillars 36 +9 61

5. Rivers United 36 +11 60

6. Kwara United 36 +15 59

7. Rangers International 36 +13 59

8. Lobi Stars 36 +5 55

9. Plateau United 37 +12 51

10. Dakkada FC 37 -4 50

11. Katsina United 37 -4 49

12. MFM FC 37 2 48

13. Heartland FC 37 -9 45

14. Abia Warriors 37 4 44

15. Wikki Tourists 36 -8 42

16. Sunshine Stars 36 -12 41

17. Warri Wolves 37 -14 41

18. Jigawa Golden Stars 36 -18 40

19. FC IfeanyiUbah 36 -16 36

20. Adamawa United 36 -31 25

N.B: PL — Played, GD — Goals Difference , PTS — Points

Load more