Representatives of GAAMAC's Africa Working Group meet in Abidjan

PP Jamila Mohammed

Justice Jamila Mohammed

On September 1 and 2, 2021, the six Regional Focal Persons of the Global Action Against Mass Atrocity Crimes’ (GAAMAC) Africa Working Group (G-AWG) will gather in Grand Bassam, Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire for a two-day retreat to be chaired by Justice Jamila Mohammed.

The GAAMAC’s Africa Working Group (G-AWG)will prepare the ground for GAAMAC IV Global Meeting and discuss priorities of the G-AWG for2022-2023.

The G-AWG is the largest and most active regional initiative of GAAMAC, a global and inclusive network of states, civil society and academic institutions that aim to support states in establishing national architectures and policies for the prevention of atrocities.It counts over 25 members from over 10 countries.

Justice Jamila Mohammed is the Chairperson of the Kenya National Committee on the Prevention and Punishment of Genocide, War Crimes, Crimes Against Humanity and All Forms of Discrimination.

She is also the Chair of the G-AWG and its Focal Person for East Africa. She says: “GAAMAC aims to move from reaction to atrocities to a culture of early and permanent prevention. It encourages and supports locally owned initiatives and is complementary to existing regional prevention efforts.”

Dr. Wale Adeboye, Anglophone West Africa focal person for G-AWG and also the Founder West Africa Responsibility to Protect Coalition (WAC-R2P) would provide atrocity crimes prevention perspectives on Nigeria and English West Africa for the delegation.

During their visit to Côte d’Ivoire, the G-AWG Focal Persons will meet with key stakeholders, including the President of the National Human Rights Council, the Political adviser of the African Union, the Chargé d’Affairesa.i of the Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

They will explain how G-AWG may support national atrocity prevention architectures and policies in Africa.

The opening ceremony of the retreat, which will take place on 31 August, 2021, will be attended by senior representatives of the government, the diplomatic community, international and regional organizations, members of civil society and the media.



Load more