Olu of Warri appoints Amatserunleghe as traditional prime minister

Olu of Warri

Olu of Warri

The new Olu of Warri Ogiame Atuwatse III, Tsola Emiko has appointed Johnson Amatserunleghe as the Iyatsere of Warri Kingdom, the most senior chief and ‘traditional prime minister’ of the kingdom.

This followed the dissolution of all traditional councils, committees, and sub-committees in Iwereland on Wednesday and revalidation that commenced on Thursday.

Amatserunleghe displaces Ayirimi Emami as prime minister..

Emami held the position of ‘Ologbotsere’ and served as traditional prime minister of the kingdom during the tenure of Atuwatse 111’s predecessor, Ogiame Ikenwoli.

Related News

The monarch also revalidated former chiefs of the kingdom. Some of them are Gabriel Awala, Kofi Kartey, Robinson Ariyo, Dr. Roland Oritsejafor, Roli Oritsejafor, and Edwin Olley.

Others are Solomon Arenyeka, Clement Maleghemi, Eugene Ikomi, Omolubi Newuwumi and Billy Besi Giwa.

The revalidation was held at the Ode-Itsekiri, the ancestral home of the Itsekiris in Warri South Local Government Area of Delta State.

Load more