Sanwo-Olu inaugurates road safety advisory council


Sanwo-Olu appoints new GM for LASTMA

Lagos State Government has inaugurated a 12-member State Road Safety Advisory Council (SaRSAC) to drive the implementation of the National Road Safety Strategy (NRSS) in the State.

Speaking during the Inauguration Ceremony earlier today, Governor Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu who is also the Chairman of the Council stated that the creation of SaRSAC was vital to the consolidation of the strides made in the transport sector.

According to him, the council will create a Road Safety blueprint to stem the tide of road accidents and socio-economic losses.

adding that Lagos as a sub-national government had been at the forefront in the implementation of global road safety strategies, adding that the establishment of the Safety Council is a step in the right direction.

The Governor further revealed that the Council, which also has the Deputy Governor of the State as Alternate Chairman to ensure nothing falls out of the radial, will set the State Road Safety Strategy target(s) in line with the NRSS and ensure coordination between States and Local Government in achieving Road Safety goals as well as drive the implementation of the NRSS via progress reports from relevant agencies.

Sanwo-Olu also explained that the Council will evaluate the results of the National road safety initiatives and invite relevant agencies to defend proposed activities and road safety efforts quarterly.

He affirmed that the strategies to be implemented will ensure that road infrastructure complies with the global standards for safety as well as capacity improvement of relevant agencies including; Vehicle Inspection Services (VIS), Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA), Lagos State Emergency Management Authority (LASEMA), and the State Fire Service.

“The Road Safety Advisory Council will develop a funding plan and source funds for strategic initiatives and oversee endorsement with the disbursement of pre-approved funds.” Mr Governor stated.

Sanwo-Olu assured the citizenry that the current administration places a premium on the safety of lives and property of the citizens and will continue to demonstrate this commitment through the implementation of various policies and strategies aimed at making Lagos roads safer for all and sundry.

Also speaking at the Council Inauguration Ceremony, the Commissioner for Transportation, Dr Frederic Oladeinde stated that SaRSAC was inaugurated based on the recommendation of the 24-man National Road Safety Advisory Council (NaRSAC) created in 2017 by Prof. Yemi Osinbajo who was then the Acting President.

Related News

He stated that the inauguration of the safety advisory body which was done at the Economic Council demonstrated Nigeria’s commitment to addressing the challenges of road safety in the country in line with the United Nations agenda to reduce road traffic accidents related deaths.

The Transport Commissioner said according to the 2018 global status report by World Health Organisation, (WHO), road traffic accident is one of the leading causes of deaths in the world with at least 1.3 million deaths. Top of the list is the African continent with 26.6% of the global road accidents, while Europe has the least with 10.4%.

Oladeinde further explained that some of the key strategic initiatives of the 2017 inauguration were to review and upgrade road designs standards; to allocate 20% of the Road Safety Intervention Fund to Non-Motorized Transport Initiatives and to establish the State Road Safety Advisory Councils at the State level.

He urged the citizenry to support the Council in every way and take charge of the newly created safety Council by the State Government to save lives and property while calling on Council members not to relent on their oars but press on constantly to sustain target results as failure is not an option.

The newly inaugurated members of the Council include; Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Council Chairman, the Deputy Governor, Dr Kadri Hamzat, Alternate Chairman, Commissioner for Transportation, Dr Frederic Oladeinde, Commissioner for Environment and Water Resources, Mr Tunji Bello, Commissioner for Education, Mrs Folashade Adefisayo and the Commissioner for Planning & Budget, Mr Samuel Egube

Others include; Commissioner for Justice, Mr Moyosore Onigbanjo, Commissioner for Finance, Dr Rabiu Olowo, Special Adviser on Works & Infrastructure, Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Sector Commander Federal Road Safety Corps, Corp Commander Olusegun Ogungbemide; Director Vehicle Inspection Services, Engr. Akin-George Fashola and Engr. Olutosin Ogunmola, NNSE, PMP.

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Mr Kamar Olowoshago stated that part of SaRSAC key responsibilities is to ensure road infrastructure complies with the global standards for safety.

This, he said, is already being implemented in the State with the mammoth of road constructions and relevant road furniture ongoing targeted at ensuring the safety of lives and property.

Furthermore, he confirmed that other set targets are equally at different stages of implementation in the State.