Edo Assembly confirms Obaseki's Commissioners nominees

Governor Godwin Obaseki

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State:

By Jethro Ibileke

The Edo State House of Assembly on Monday confirmed 11 Commissioners nominee sent to it for screening by Governor Godwin Obaseki.

The House also cleared and confirmed the nomination of Justice Joe Acha, as the Chief Judge of the State.

The House Committee on Rules, Business and Government House, led by the Majority Leader, Henry Okhuarobo, screened and cleared the nominees.

Obaseki had in a letter dated September 28 and addressed to the Speaker, Marcus Onobun, requested the House to screen and confirm the nominees as commissioners in the state.

Related News

The Commissioners designate include Oluwole Osamudiamen lyamu (SAN), Prof. Obehi Akoria, Dr. Joan Oviawe, Ethan Uzamere and Monday Osaigbovo.

Others are Marie Edeko Esq., Joseph Eboigbe, Moses Agbukor, lsoken Omo, Andrew Emwanta and Mrs. Otse Momoh-Omorogbe.

Okhuarobo while presenting the report of the Committee on the screened nominees to the House, noted that the nominees are competent, relatively young and physically fit for the State assignment.

Having been found to be eligible, the Committee recommended that the nominees be confirmed as Commissioners, after which the House, in a voice vote, unanimously confirmed the nominees as Commissioners.

Justice Acha’s confirmation as the State Chief Judge, was sequel to a request letter by Governor Godwin Obaseki, signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Barr. Osarodion Ogie.

Load more