Winners of 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics announced

Winner of 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics

L-R Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi

The Nobel Committee on Physics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced the winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize in physics.

The Prize was awarded one half jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”.

Giorgio Parisi won the other half “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced on Tuesday.

Parisi, the academy said, discovered hidden patterns in disordered complex materials.

“His discoveries are among the most important contributions to the theory of complex systems”.

Related News

“Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann laid the foundation of our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and how humanity influences it.

Hasselmann created a model that links together weather and climate. His methods have been used to prove that the increased temperature in the atmosphere is due to human emissions of carbon dioxide.

Manabe demonstrated how increased levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere lead to increased temperatures at the surface of the Earth.

“His work laid the foundation for the development of current climate models”, the academy said.

Load more