Lukaku, Fernandes earn Ballon D’Or nomination for first time


Ballon D’Or

Bruno Fernandes,  Romelu Lukaku, Lautaro Martinez are among 15 players who earned a Ballon D’Or nomination for the first time in their careers.

They emerged in the 30-man shortlist released by the organisers, ahead of this year’s event.

Half of those who made the cut have never been nominated for one of football’s most coveted personal accolades.

They are: Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain/Chelsea)
Nicolo Barella (Italy/Inter Milan)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus)
Ruben Dias (Portugal/Manchester City)
Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain)
Bruno Fernandes (Portugal/Manchester United)
Phil Foden (England/Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Norway/Borussia Dortmund)
Jorginho (Italy/Chelsea)
Simon Kjaer (Denmark/AC Milan)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium/Chelsea)
Lautaro Martinez (Argentina/Inter Milan)
Gerard Moreno (Spain/Villarreal)
Mason Mount (England/Chelsea)
Pedri (Spain/Barcelona)

Related News

Some of these players will become regulars among the Ballon d’Or nominees for years to come.

However, for others, this could prove to be the high point of their careers.

Paris Saint-Germain superstar, Lionel Messi, is favourite to walk away with the prize when it is handed out on November 29.

Load more