Ojelabi heads Lagos APC, but faction elects own chairman too

Sanwo-Olu 5th right shows off the new Lagos ApC chairman Ojelabi

Sanwo-Olu 5th right shows off the new Lagos ApC chairman Ojelabi

By Adeyemi Adeleye/Florence Onuegbu

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State on Saturday elected its 36 state party officials through voice votes at the party’s 2021 state congress held at Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Lagos.

The seven-man Lagos APC State Congress Committee headed by Mr Adebayo Adelabu, the 2019 Governorship Candidate of APC in Oyo State, said that the committee received 37 forms for the 36 party positions.

Adelabu said that 35 aspirants were returned unopposed while the position of the chairman was contested by two aspirants. But one of the aspirants was unsuccessful and disqualified during screening.

Mr Cornelius Ojelabi emerged the Chairman of the newly elected Lagos APC State Executive Council with Mr Olanrewaju Maiyegun emerged the deputy chairman.

Sunmi Odesanya is now the Secretary, Biodun Aigbe Treasurer and Doyin Banjo Financial Secretary.

Adewale Ayodele is the new state organising secretary, while Oluseye Oladejo is the Publicity Secretary).

Other elected officials were Kehinde Adeniyi as Welfare Secretary, Doyin Pikudan Auditor, Jumoke Okoya-Thomas Women’s Leader and Dr Muritala Seriki Youth Leader.

New chairman Ojelabi commended the party hierarchy for electing him.

He said his team had presented themselves to serve the party and the people of Lagos State.

Related News

“All that has been achieved here today is part of the attestation of good leadership, deep thoughtfulness of our great leader, father, benefactor, mentor and pathfinder of Nigerian politics, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

“On behalf of all new exco members, we are committed to setting our great party on higher pedestal. All hands must be on deck. This is a crucial moment in our political endeavours in the state.

“We assure the party members in Lagos State of our commitment to lead the party to greater heights. We pray that the APC and the party will continue to grow in all ramifications nationwide.

“I enjoin all party members to come up strongly for us to really take this party to the next level and compliment the efforts of Gov. Babjide Sanwo-Olu,” he said.

Ojelabi promised to reach out to all progressive aggrieved members and bring everybody on board.

He thanked the outgone executive members led by Alhaji Tunde Balogun for consolidating on the foundation laid years back.

The new APC chairman commended the state congress committee members and all delegates that that voted.

Meanwhile, there were reports of a parallel APC Congress by the Lagos4lagos Movement, an aggrieved group within Lagos APC.

The group led by Olajide Adediran elected its Deputy Leader, Sunday Ajayi, as chairman at Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja

Load more