Lagos to lockdown Surulere for Super Eagles, Cape Verde World Cup qualifier


Super Eagles set for Cape Verde

The Lagos State Government said some major roads leading to the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere will be shut by Monday for the World Cup qualifying match between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and Cape Verde.

The crucial match comes up on Monday.

A statement issued by the Commissioner for Transportation, Dr. Frederic Oladeinde explained that there would be diversion as all roads leading to the stadium would be shut.

He said vehicles would be barred from accessing Surulere from Teslim Balogun axis from 12:00 noon till 5.00pm when the match would commence.

The diversion plan, according to the Transport Commissioner would have motorists heading towards Costain, Lagos Island from Masha/kilo and Surulere diverted to Adeniran Ogunsanya or Bode Thomas to link Iponri or Eric Moore to access their destinations.

Related News

Alternately, he advised motorists to utilize Adelabu to connect Babs Animashaun/Eric Moore axis to link Brewery and access Costain or Eko Bridge.

For further traffic management of the match, Oladeinde also encourage motorists to use the aforementioned routes to access Surulere from Lagos Island, as well as Ikorodu Road bound motorists from Surulere to make use of Akerele to link Ogunlana Drive inwards Itire road and connect Ojuelegba to their destinations.

The Commissioner assured that the Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA) alongside other security Agencies would be on ground to ensure seamless traffic flow.

He stressed that the cooperation of the Surulere community and other road users of the affected axis is vital to ease of traffic flow.

It would be recalled that the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) had proposed to stage Three Super Eagles World Cup home qualifying matches in Lagos State, the First of the series took place on Friday 3rd September, 2021 between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and Lone Stars of Liberia and the second on Thursday 7th October, 2021 between Nigeria and Central African Republic.

Load more