Omicron: Rwanda bans flights to and from southern Africa

Paul Kagame

Rwanda president, Paul Kagame

Agency Report

The Rwandan government has imposed a ban on all inbound and outbound flights to southern African countries in the wake of the new Covid-19 variant, Omicron.

In a press statement, Prime Minister Édouard Ngirente said that an extraordinary Cabinet meeting resolved to suspend all “direct flights between Rwanda and southern Africa”

Related News

Rwanda joined the list of other countries that have placed flight restrictions after a case of Omicron was first detected in South Africa.

However, the east African country is the first black nation to do so.

Countries affected by flight restrictions include Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Load more