Lekan Balogun next in line to be crowned Olubadan


Oba Lekan Balogun

Chief Lekan Balogun, a former senator, former governorship candidate and presidential aspirant is next in line to succeed Oba Saliu Adetunji as Olubadan of Ibadan.

Oba Adetunji died today at UCH Ibadan. He will be buried today.

In line with Ibadan’s hierarchical succession rite, Lekan Balogun as the Otun Olubadan is expected to be crowned the new king.

If Governor Seyi Makinde strictly follows the succession rule, Balogun will be proclaimed the new king.

Balogun, who is 80 years old, is a study in self development.

After his primary education, although he was a student of CAC Modern School Anlugbaa, he read at home to write a qualifying test that enabled him to travel to UK, in search of greener pastures.

His academic pursuit was assisted by reading materials sent to his older brother, who was studying for GCE.

Havinng passed the test, he did not wait to complete his education at the CAC Modern School.

In the UK, Balogun sat for and passed the O-Level and A-level exams that gave him admission into Brunel University.

He left the university in 1973 with a Masters degree in Administration and Economics.

Post graduation, he worked with Lambeth Local Government Social Services Department for 18 months.

He also enrolled for the PhD.

In 1973, he returned to Nigeria and took up an appointment with Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria at the Centre for Social and Economic Research.

He later took up an appointment with Shell British Petroleum Company where he retired as the Head of Recruitment.

Lekan Balogun joined politics in 1978, when he served as general secretary for Aminu Kano’s Peoples Redemption Party between 1978 and 1980.

Related News

He was also the party’s deputy national secretary between 1980- 1982.

He was governorship aspirant of the PDP in 2002-3, but lost the ticket to Rasheed Ladoja, who went on to beat AD’s incumbent, Lam Adesina. 2.

Balogun was a presidential aspirant on the platform of SDP in early 1990s. MKO Abiola won the contest.

He was elected Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in the Fourth Republic in 1999 and held the office till 2003.


1) Lekan Balogun: Otun Olubadan.

2) Owolabi Olakulehin: Balogun Olubada‎n

3) ‎Rashidi Ladoja: Osi Olubadan.

4). Olufemi Olaifa: Otun Balogun.

5) ‎Eddy Oyewole: Ashipa Olubadan.

6) Tajudeen Ajibola: Osi Balogun.

7) Amidu Ajibade:Ekaarun Olubadan.

8) Lateef Gbadamosi: Ashipa Balogun Olubadan.

9) Kola Adegbola: Ekarun Balogun‎.

10) Abiodun Kola-Daisi: Ekerin Olubadan‎.

Load more