Lagos pulls out 13 Perm. Secs who retired 2021


Muri-Okunola with one of the retired permanent secretaries during the ceremony.

The Lagos State Government on Wednesday pulled out of service 13 Permanent Secretaries who retired from the civil service in 2021.

The Pens Down Ceremony in honour of the retirees was held at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium, Alausa, Ikeja on Wednesday with well wishers celebrating them.

Speaking at the event, Head of Service (HoS), Hakeem Muri-Okunola said the retirees had been found worthy of honour in recognition of their exemplary service and record of outstanding contributions to the growth and
development of the State Public Service.

“Indeed, it is no mean feat to celebrate 35 years of meritorious public service career in any Public Service in the world,” he said, urging them to be deliberate in paying attention to their personal health and wellness, particularly considering the frequency of the mutation of the Corona virus.

Muri-Okunola said, as the newest members of the Association of Lagos State Retired Heads of Service and Permanent Secretaries, government would continue to look forward to benefitting from their vast reservoirs of information policy formulation and implementation in order to continue to move the State forward.

“In the same vein, you are now better opportune to deploy your skills, wide knowledge and extensive administrative and managerial experience to add value to yourselves and your immediate communities, particularly the youths, who are expected to bear the burden of leadership after us,” he said.

Related News

The HoS implored all potential Permanent Secretaries, to remain committed to the well tested values, ethos and traditions of honesty, probity, transparency, integrity, hard work and service excellence that has characterized the Lagos State Public Service.

“It is my hope and prayers that someday, in the not too far future, you will also be among those to be recognized, honoured and so celebrated as we are doing today,” he added.

Those pulled out of service are: Mr. Mustapha, Abdul-Ahmed Olorunfemi Mohammed (Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources), Me Olaide-Mesewaku, Babatunde Anthony (Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture), Arc. Dipe, Foluso Adebayo (Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development), Mrs. Durosinmi-Etti, Olorunkemi,(Cabinet Office), Eng. Hotonu, Olujimi Nunayon, (Ministry of Works and Infrastructure) Mr. Erinle, Olumide Olufolami(Education District V), Mrs Odejayi, Yetunde Adefolahan, (Office of the Deputy Governor), Mrs Adekanye, Adebunmi Elizabeth (Ministry of Home Affairs), Mrs Deile, Helen Morenike (Office of the State Auditor General), Mrs Ajenifuja, Kafayat Adetokunbo(Ministry of Wealth Creation and Employment), Mrs Abolarin, Adesumbo Idiat(Office of the Auditor -General for Local Governments), Mrs Adelaja, Abosede Omobolanle (Ministry of Education) and Mrs Ayoola, Iyabo Oyeyemi (Office of Finance).

Permanent Secretary, Public Service Office, Mr. Samson Ajibade, said one of the major attributes of successful leaders was the sustained capacity to manage diverse human and material resources while ensuring compliance with processes, laid down procedure and relevant legal obligation processes of attaining organizational goals and objectives, a feat which made the 13 retirees counted among those that are being celebrated for unblemished public service career.

Responding on behalf of the retirees, Mrs Deile Helen, expressed appreciation to the Lagos State Government for allowing them to serve, just as he advised those still in active service not to look back but ensure they contribute their quota to improve the lot of the state and humanity.


Load more