INEC wins: Supreme Court upholds de-registration of 74 paper-weight parties [Full List]

INEC Chairman Yakubu

INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has won the legal battle to de-register 74 paper-weight political parties.

The Supreme Court upheld the 6 February 2020 decision today.

INEC had de-registered them for failing to win any political office in the general elections held in 2019.

Twenty-two of the parties took INEC to court, saying they have a right to exist.

The Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD) and 21 others filed the suit.

Related News

Justice Ejembi Eko on Friday set aside a judgment of the Court of Appeal, Abuja division which had nullified the de-registration of the political parties.

He was delivering judgment in an appeal instituted by INEC against the judgment of the Court of Appeal.

INEC list of de-registered parties 1
INEC list of deregistered parties 1.

INEC de-registered parties 2INEC de-registered parties 3INEC de-registered parties 4INEC de-registered parties 5INEC deregistered parties 6

More later

Load more