PDP committee jettisons zoning of presidential ticket, to submit report to NEC


Gov. Samuel Ortom

By Emmanuel Oloniruha

The Samuel Ortom led Peoples Democratic Party PDP (PDP) Zoning Committee has jettisoned the principle of zoning the presidential ticket, shortchanging southern key members, who want the ticket zoned to the south.

In a consensus decision, the committee recommends that zoning of the presidential ticket be waived and the position thrown open.

Sources said though the committee affirmed the principle of zoning in the party’s constitution, the presidential ticket should be thrown Open, “this time around due to exigency of time”.

The party adopted the principle of zoning in sharing party offices at its convention last October, in which Iyorchia Ayu, from North Central, emerged as chairman.

Ortom and Atiku, opponent of zoning in February

“Our Party is encouraged to always make the issue of zoning very clear at least six months before sales of forms.

“Our party should commend the efforts of some our contestants on the issue of consensus candidacy; the efforts should be seen to a peaceful and logical,” the committee recommends.

The Chairman of the committee and Governor of Benue State, Samuel Ortom said it will present its consensus to the National Executive Committee (NEC).

Related News

He said this after the committee’s meeting held at Benue State Governor’s lodge on Tuesday in Abuja.

Ortom, who did not immediately disclose the zoning decision of the committee and when it would be submitted to NEC, said the decision was unanimously agreed by 37 members of the committee.

“We have just finished our meeting, after we rose from our meeting last week.

”Today we decided that we will meet and by the Grace of God we have unanimously adopted a position that will be sent to the NEC of our Party that appointed us.

“The good news for our teeming supporters of the PDP and Nigerians is that we have resolved and everyone of us, the 37 members unanimously adopted the position that we are going to present to NEC,” Ortom said.

Present at the meeting were Governors Darius Ishaku of Taraba, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu states; ex-governors Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna), Boni Haruna (Adamawa), Ibrahim Shema (Katsina) and Sule Lamido (Jigawa).

Others were former Information Minister, Prof. Jerry Gana, erstwhile Minister of Special Duties and InterGovernmental Relations, Tanimu Turaki and Chairman, PDP Disciplinary Committee, Chief Tom Ikimi, among others

Load more