Oyo APC harvests defectors from PDP, ADC, Accord, dreams signing Makinde

Rep Ajibola Muraina one of the defectors from PDP to APC

Rep Ajibola Muraina one of the defectors from PDP to Oyo APC

By Akeem Abas

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State has received scores of defectors from the PDP, African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Accord Party.

One of the defectors harvested from PDP was Rep. Ajibola Muraina (PDP-Ibarapa Central/North Federal Constituency)

At the reception party on Saturday, state chairman Mr Isaac Omodewu said that the party has gained more from the defection than it lost to PDP.

Omodewu said his party is seriously working toward reclaiming the state from the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He said the defectors were the first batch, adding that more batches were still coming to join APC, especially from the Labour Party.

“They signed one player, we signed more than 20 players. It is a game. We are working seriously and we are taking that government back.

“A time is coming that we shall also sign Seyi Makinde to APC. This is a manifestation of what APC is doing underneath. We are winning,” the chairman said.

In his remarks, Sen. Teslim Folarin (APC-Oyo Central), said that more defectors would still join APC from other political parties.

According to him, there are still more coming. We just want to stagger it. Look at the quality players we are bringing into the team.

“They are real politicians. They are winners. They are not used to losing. These are politicians we have brought into the fold. So, we are very happy,” he said.

Related News

Folarin, who is an APC governorship aspirant, said that the turnout at the defection was impressive despite the ongoing Ramadan fasting.

“I also want to make a point that in APC today, when you join, you have equally rights and privileges with everyone.

“So, that is an attraction for them to come. So, there are more coming. These people will guarantee us victory,” he said.

Rep. Ajibola Muraina said that he would bring his experience and electoral value to bear in APC.

“I was the coordinator that re-arranged PDP from 2016-2018 in Oyo State before we took power from APC.

“I’m bringing back that experience as the third term member of the House of Representatives and will also use my electoral value and all God has given me to support APC to grow,” he said.

Also, Chief Remi Oseni, another defector, who was the Governorship aspirant of ADC in the 2019 general election, said he was part of those who rallied support for Makinde in 2018.

“In 2018, we were the ones that came together and rallied support for Makinde. God answered our prayers in 2019 and he won the governorship election.

“The administration was inaugurated, but we have had reasons to leave our parties for APC. I am saying it openly that comes 2023, APC will win in this state,” he said.

Other defectors include Chief Michael Adegbite, former PDP State Chairman; Mr Wasiu Emiola, former PDP State Secretary and Asiwaju Adekola Adeoye, the immediate past PDP Youths Leader and Mr Yemi Aderibigbe, a former Special Adviser to Makinde.

They were received into the APC by party chieftains, the State Chairman, Isaac Ajiboye Omodewu, Oyo Central Senator, Senator Teslim Folarin, Hon Mojeed Olaoya, Mr Iyiola Olukokun, Barr Lowo Obisesan, Hon Murphy Adigun, Hon Wasiu Abioye, Hon Azeez Akogun and Baba Adisa Gbayawu amongst others.

Load more