Sanwo-Olu, others emerge winners of Tourism Awards


Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu

By Taiye Olayemi

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu and other dignitaries across the country have emerged winners of the Nigeria Tourism Awards.

Mr Efetobo Awhana, the Chief Executive Officer of the award disclosed this in a statement on Wednesday in Lagos.

He said that the winners emerged following a careful and diligent scoring process introduced in 2020 as they were judged and scored on the set criteria for their categories.

According to the statement, the winners of the award would be celebrated at the Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel in Lagos on May 20.

“The most anticipated categories for the 5th edition will go to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as the Best Tourism governor; Chief Abiodun Odusanwo as Tourism Personality of the Year; Mrs Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, the Best Tourism Commissioner.

Related News

“Taiye Olayemi of the News Agency of Nigeria as the Best Tourism Journalist and Park Vega Water Park as the Best Family Amusement Centre.

“Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Tope Ogbeni-Awe, a marketing communications expert who has contributed massively to the growth of the tourism industry for decades,” he said.

“The Special Recognition Awards for the 5th edition will be presented to Chief Michael Adeojo (Tourism Investment) and Aura by Transcorp (Special Recognition Award – Tourism Innovation).

“Some other honourees include Special Adviser to Ekiti State Governor on Tourism Development, Wale Ojo-Lanre; NTDC North Central Zonal Coordinator, Mrs Nanna Yakubu; Chairman Delta State Tourism Board, Fidelia Salami; Kayode Adeshola of Tourism Plus; Mr Chuma Mgbojikwe of Transcorp Hotels.

“Others are SKAL International Lagos President, Mr Ademola Sanya; Infogem Ltd. Chairman, Chief Ayo Olumoko; NANTA VP Lagos Zone, Mr Yinka Folami and Manaher of SJ Tours, Mrs Abiola Ogunbiyi.


Load more