Tinubu, Osinbajo, Amosun, Fayemi pledge to work together

L-R, Tinubu, Akande, Osinbajo and Osoba

L-R, Tinubu, Akande, Osinbajo and Osoba

All the presidential aspirants in the APC from the South West have pledged to work together to ensure that the 2023 presidency does not elude the region.

Chief Bisi Akande, one of the conveners of the South West All Progressives Congress meeting in Lagos, disclosed this in Lagos on Friday night.

Four presidential aspirants; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi and Senator Ibikunle Amosun attended the parley.

Senator Ajayi Boroffice and Pastor Tunde Bakare were absent.

Akande said the meeting charged all the presidential aspirants from the zone to ensure the presidency does not elude the region in 2023.

Akande told journalists that the meeting was successful and the leaders and aspirants had frank and honest discussion on how they must work together to ensure the South West gets the presidential ticket of the APC.

“We had a good meeting and made my desire to see the presidency comes to the South West clear to all the aspirants.

Related News

“We told them to eschew anything capable of causing disunity.

“We also made it clear they must be guided in their public utterances against one another and avoid disparaging statement against themselves,” he stated.

Chief Akande did not entertain questions from journalists after his brief address, reports WesternPost.

South West governors at the meeting include Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola and Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, Ogun State Governor Dapo Abiodun and the host Governor of Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Minister of Trade and Industry, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, APC National Secretary, Dr. Iyiola Omisore, Speaker of House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila and former Governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel attended the meeting.

Others are Otunba Moses Adeyemo, former Deputy Governor of Oyo State and Chief Pius Akinyelure, former National Vice Chairman of APC, South-West Zone among others.

APC had announced May 30 to June 1 as dates for its presidential primaries.

Load more