President Buhari orders Ngige, Amaechi, others to resign

President Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari

Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister for Transportation, Chris Ngige, the Minister of Labour and Employment, and other members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) running for elective offices in 2023 must now submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

President Muhammadu Buhari gave the order during the Federal Executive Council meeting held at the Presidential Villa on Wednesday.

Others affected by the presidential order are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Related News

However, the Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, who read out the directive during the meeting said it excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Lai affirmed that if there are any amendments or additions to this directive they would be made shortly.

According to the Minister, the directive might involve political appointees, if the need arises.

Load more