Breaking: Atiku clinches PDP Presidential ticket


Former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar

Former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar has clinched the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential ticket after defeating other aspirants at the party’s primary election on Saturday.

Atiku polled 371 votes to beat 11 other aspirants to win the presidential ticket.

Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike came second with 237 votes, while former Senate President, Bukola Saraki got 70 votes to come third, while Akwa Ibom Govenor, Udom Emmanuel, came fourth with 38 votes.

Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed got 20 votes, while former Senate President, Anyim Pius Anyim scored 14 votes.

David Mark, Chairman electoral committee, announced Atiku as the winner of the primary election having polled the highest number of votes cast.

Total number of votes cast was 763, while 751 votes were valid and 12 votes voided.

Mark said that “Abubakar having scored the highest votes in the election is hereby declared the winner”.

The only female Aspirant, Mrs Tari Oliver, and the former President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Mazi Samuel Ohuabunwa scored one vote each.

Other aspirants without vote included former governor of Ekiti State, Ayodele Fayose; the Publisher of Ovation Magazine, Dele Momodu; former Speaker of Abia State, Chikwendu Kalu; and former Deputy Speaker of Abia State, Cosmos Ndekwe.

Related News

Former governor Peter Obi of Anambra had earlier withdrawn from the race and resigned from the party.

Others that withdrew from the race were banker, Mohammed Hayatu-deen, Gov. Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State and Dr Nwachukwu Anakwenze.

Abubakar was born on Nov. 25, 1946 in Jada, Adamawa.

He was elected governor in 1999, before becoming the running mate to former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

He was the vice-president between 1999 and 2007.

Abubakar contested for the office of the president in 2007 and 2019.

His attempts to be on the ballot in 2011 and 2015, collapsed at the primary stages.

He came third in the APC primary in Lagos in 2014, which picked President Buhari as the flag bearer of Nigeria’s first successful political coalition.

When he ran against Buhari in 2019, he also lost.

Load more