Senator Folarin wins Oyo APC governorship primary


Senator Teslim Folarin

Senator Teslim Folarin, who represents Oyo Central in the National Assembly, has won the Oyo All Progressives Congress, APC governorship primary.

He scored 954 votes to defeat five other aspirants who contested the election held, on Friday, at the Obafemi Awolowo Stadium, in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.

His closest challenger, Adebayo Adelabu, who was the candidate of the party in 2019, got 327 votes.

Azeez Adeduntan had 2 votes, Engineer Akeem Alao had six votes, Barrister Hakeem Agbaje had 16 votes while 11 votes were voided.

Adelabu was absent at the venue of the election.

Senior lawyer, Chief Niyi Akintola pulled out of the primary alleging that the delegates list has been tampered with.

Related News

Akintola has also petitioned the leadership of the party stating that any primary election held on another day aside the day announced by the party is invalid.

The party on Thursday shifted the primary till Friday for security reasons.

In an interview with newsmen after his declaration as the winner of the contest, Senator Folarin, a three-term senator, dedicated his victory to his late wife, Angela.

“We worked very hard to achieve this feat. It is not an easy task. Kudos to my team.

“I also, thanked the delegates for their resilience. The election was supposed to hold yesterday but for security reason, it was postponed till today.

“APC has won. Democracy has won. I will visit and reconcile with other aspirants. It is a joint task.”

Load more