Uba Michael congratulates Tinubu for winning APC presidential primary


Uba Michael congratulates Tinubu

Delta State former gubernatorial aspirant, Chief (Amb) Uba A. Michael has congratulated the National leader of the All Progressives Congress, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, for winning the presidential primary election of the party.

The former governor of Lagos State emerged as the presidential candidate of the ruling party for the 2023 general election, after winning by a landslide.

He polled 1, 271 votes to defeat former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

While Amaechi polled 316 votes, Osinbajo scored 235 votes.

Uba who attended the convention held at the Eagle Square, in Abuja, alongside other APC stalwarts said Tinubu has the capacity to paddle affairs of the country, “that only a leader with a proven track record of can achieve.”

“Let me be among the first to congratulate our leader and father, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the flag-bearer of our party, this is a deserving victory, and wish him and our party success in the general election.

Related News

“I also want to commend Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Minister for transportation and former Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi, for remaining consistent in action and character throughout the race,” he added.

Fourteen aspirants participated in the race including Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Gov. Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Sen. Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi, Gov. Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.

Indications that the odds would favoure Tinubu began to manifest after some of the aspirants started to stand down their aspiration and declare support for him and urged their delegates to vote for him at the convention.

Those, who stepped down for Tinubu were former Minister for Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godswill Akpabio; former governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Governor of Jigawa State, Abubakar Badaru; former Speaker of House of Representatives, Hon. Dimeji Bankole; Senator Ajayi Boroffice and the only female aspirant, Uju Ohanenye.

Tinubu, who was the first to address the special convention, boasted as having the capacity to articulate a vision of progress for the country if elected candidate of the party and ultimately, president of the country.

Load more