Monkeypox spreads across 15 Nigerian states - NCDC

A case of monkeypox

A case of monkeypox

The Nigerian Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has revealed that the monkeypox virus has spread to fifteen states in under eight weeks.

Monkeypox is a rare viral zoonotic infectious disease spread from animals to humans that occurs mostly in isolated towns in Central and West Africa near tropical rainforests.

According to the NCDC’s most recent Monkeypox situation report, 36 cases have been confirmed in 15 states.

Lagos (7), Adamawa (5), Delta (3), River (3), Cross River (2), FCT (2), Kano (2), Bayelsa (2), Edo (2), Imo (2), Plateau (2), Nasarawa (1), Niger (1), Oyo (1), and Ondo (1) are among the states with confirmed cases.

Related News

In its latest epidemiological summary on Monkeypox, the NCDC noted that Nigeria had continued to report sporadic cases of the disease.

Other countries like the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Italy are also battling the viral disease.

Health workers are hereby advised to use Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) in the treatment of infected persons to avoid the spread of the disease.

Members of the public are urged to report promptly the cases of stooling and vomiting to the nearest health facility.

Load more