PDP, SDP members join APC in Oyo

PDP members defect to APC

FILE: PDP members defect to APC

By Akeem Abas

Scores of political party members in Oyo State have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the 2023 general elections.

The defectors were received on Saturday during a local meeting of the party held at Elekuro High School, Ogbere in Ona-Ara area of the state.

Leading the welcome party were Sen. Teslim Folarin, the APC governorship candidate, and Dr Yunus Akintunde, the Oyo Central senatorial candidate.

On behalf of Folarin, the Chairman of, the National Lottery Commission, Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle, welcomed the defectors to the APC.

Ibikunle assured them of fairness and equity in their new party, promising that they would benefit from every opportunity regarding the welfare of members without sentiments.

“I welcome you to our great party, APC, as new members, and assure you of all rights accrued to the rest of our members.

“We will ensure that you benefit from every opportunity regarding the welfare of members without sentiments,” he said.

Related News

He charged the new members to aggressively mobilize for the victory of all APC candidates in the 2023 General elections.

Mogaji Akinjide, who led the PDP defectors, said they were pleased with the reception accorded them by Folarin.

While Elder A Kalejaye, who led the SDP defectors, said the performance of Folarin and his emergence as APC governorship candidate informed their defection.

According to him, the victory of APC in the 2023 general elections would benefit Ona-Ara Local Government Area and the entire state.

Folarin commended the defectors, saying they made the right decision by joining APC.

Meanwhile, he promised to carry the defectors along in all party affairs and ensure that they benefitted from all available opportunities.

The governorship candidate urged them to go to their various wards and attend party meetings regularly for updates concerning the party.


Load more